Following God In Difficult Time

“God, if You want me to obey You, why don’t You prosper me? Why don’t You make things easy for me?”
This question popped up in my mind yesterday.
It was the first thing coming up in my mind when things went wrong in the lab.
Interesting.
It is exactly the same logic used by the devil long time ago.
“Job follows You only because You bless him. Now, stop Your blessing. He will surely curse You.”
In the end, it boils down to the very fundamental question: Why do we follow God? Because of He Himself? Or, because of His blessing?
And sometimes, we face difficult situation.
To obey God would mean difficult path ahead. Very costly. Narrow way.
To disobey God would lead to a broader way. A path of safety, according to the world’s standard.
Daniel chose to narrow way even when there was a death threat.
The martyrs chose death rather than living in denying Lord Jesus
Knowing all this, will I still choose to obey the Lord…?
It looks like I still have a long way to go to reach Job’s or Daniel’s level.

Posted January 11, 2015 by Jefri Yue Fei 吴岳飞 in Thought

