Prayer is a Conversation

It is said prayer is as natural as breathing.
So natural. We need it even without thinking about it.
However, very often prayer may become just a chant, repeating the same words times and again.

To begin with, there is nothing wrong with repetition.
Lord Jesus said the same prayer 3 times in the Gethsemane.
What He disliked was vain repetition (Matt 6:7, NKJV)

But perhaps, prayer should be a conversation too.
Lord Jesus had this kind of conversation with the Father (John 12:28).

If that’s the case, then shouldn’t I be able to hear from God too?

In the beginning of movie Cinderella, Ella’s mom mentioned humans could hear animals’ voice if they have the ear.
Ella had that kind of ear. Hence, she could communicate with the mouse.

Perhaps, I should train myself to have some kind of spiritual ear too.
It will be good if I can hear from God for myself.
(Btw, I am not equating God with animals)

Talking to God daily
shall I do.

Posted June 24, 2015 by Jefri Yue Fei 吴岳飞 in Bible Study, Thought

