Limit to Hospitality

“Don’t visit your neighbors too often, or you will wear out your welcome.”
– Proverb 25:17 (NLT) –

When I was very young, I unknowingly broke this Proverb.
I visited my friend’s house almost everyday.
I guess my friend did not seem to welcome me anymore eventually.
One day I read this Proverb and I slapped my forehead for being so unwise!

Why would the welcome wear out?
Here lies a principle: there is a personal space which even friends must respect.

House represents personal space.
Visiting a friend’s house is similar to entering someone’s personal space.
This means we need to treat the space with respect.
Visiting someone else’s house too often shows disrespect to his/her time.

Personal space is not only restricted to visiting a friend’s house.
It applies too especially to interaction between opposite gender.
Certainly there are do(s) and don’t(s) in such interaction.

Let’s be wise and respectful other’s personal space, shall we?

Posted August 2, 2016 by Jefri Yue Fei 吴岳飞 in Verse of the Day

