Running Away When No One Pursues

The wicked flee when no one pursues, but the righteous are bold as a lion 
– Proverb 28:1- 

In Indonesia, it is pretty common for a traffic police to do a spot check.
He will politely asks the drivers to stop driving.
He then checks their driving license to make sure it has not expired.
He also checks the ownership certificate to make sure the vehicle belongs to the right owner (i.e. not stolen).
When the drivers cannot produce either one of them, they will have a nice talk with the police.

Suppose I do nothing wrong legally, I can comfortably show both the license and certificate to the police.
Once the police is done, I can continue my journey calmly. I do not need to flee from the police.
Suppose I carry illegal drug when I drive and I encounter the spot check.
Though I may pass the check and the police does not pursue me (he will check other drivers), my heart will beat fast and I will quickly flee from the police as I do not want to risk being found with illegal drug.

Why do the wicked flee when no one pursues? 
Because they have something to hide.  
They do not want to risk being exposed. Hence, they will just flee. 
The righteous, on the other hand, have nothing to hide.
Hence, they are bold. Their life is transparent.

What about us today?
Do we have any secret sin which we hide from others? 
If we do, then we should confess it and repent from it. 
We can flee now, but we cannot flee forever.
After all, wouldn’t life be easier if we are bold because we have nothing to hide?

 

Posted December 23, 2016 by Jefri Yue Fei 吴岳飞 in Verse of the Day

