The Seven Churches

Dear all ^___^
Another sharing from the book What the Bible is All About (page 662)


The churches named were churches that actually existed in John’s day.
In dealing with them, He seems to give us a brief church history from the first-century church to the church of today, in seven periods:

Ephesus – the church of the first love, the apostolic church (2:1-7)

Smyrna – the persecuted church – Diocletian to Constantine (2:8-11)

Pergamos – the church under imperial favor – under Constantine (2:12-17)

Thyatira – the papal church – the Dark Ages (2:18-29)

Sardis – the reformation church – protestantism, sixteenth and seventeenth centuries (3:1-6)

Philadelphia – the missionary church – period ushered in by the Puritan movement (3:7-13)

Laodicea – the rejected church – church of the final apostasy (3:14-19)


Posted May 8, 2017 by Jefri Yue Fei 吴岳飞 in Henrietta C. Mears

%d bloggers like this: