Archive for May 6, 2013

Holy Communion: Pastor Kong’s Sermon 4, May, 2013 + My Thought

“Therefore whoever eats this bread or drinks this cup of the Lord in an unworthy manner will be guilty of the body and blood of the Lord”
-1 Corinthians 11:27-

A story which took place a few years ago.
I was in the middle a church service. After praise and worship session, my friends offered a sweet to me.
I then accepted the offer.
As soon as I put the sweet into my mouth, one of the pastors led us into Holy Communion.
Feeling shocked, my friend and I looked at each other with our eyes wide open, realizing we had to do something immediately with the sweet.
If my memory is correct, I quickly chewed it and swallowed it.
After all, Holy Communion is a sacred moment. I should respect the body and the blood of the LORD.

Last weekend I saw two young kids in the church service.
Again, it was Holy Communion weekend.
Lo and behold, they were fooling around during this sacred moment.
I still held my peace as I did not want to distract others.
One of them inserted the bread into the back of the shirt of another person.
I could not take it. I went to them and gently chided them, “Be respectful, please.”
Hmm, I could not bring myself to continue that sentence.
I should have said, “This is sacred moment and the elements are sacred too.”

Now, I am not pretty knowledgeable when it comes to the right doctrine of Holy Communion.
As far as I know, Christians do not subscribe to doctrine of transubstantiation.
This doctrine somehow teaches that the priest has the power to change the bread and wine into the body and blood of Christ.
One reason Christians do not subscribe is that this doctrine implies Christ’s sacrifice needs to be repeated times and again during the Communion.
In other words, under this doctrine, Christ’s sacrifice was not complete.

I used to think that the bread and the wine represent Lord Jesus’ body and and blood.
Hence, when I take them, it reminds me that the Lord lives in me.
I may not be theologically correct.
But anyway, I am more concerned with the attitude one should have when he/she partakes in the Communion.

Pastor Kong taught 4 attitudes we should have in partaking the bread and the wine. 

Look in
We are to examine ourselves if there is any hidden sin. We should then confess any hidden sin to God.
Look out
We are to see if we harbor any bitterness or resentment towards others. We should then forgive them.
Look up
We are to focus on Lord Jesus who has sacrificed for us.
Look on
We are to look at our future in Christ.

Thank You, Lord Jesus, for Your sacrifice!! 

The Ink Room Duty 4, May, 2013

Another crunchy news from the bookstore!
This month was declared a Ladies’ Month! In conjunction with Mother’s Day, that is Smile
Hence the bookstore brought in plenty accessories products for women!

040520136054

 040520136053 040520136055 040520136056

040520136057 040520136058 040520136060

This will make a good present for all women, especially mothers.
Do head down to the bookstore on weekends, ok? Smile

Posted May 6, 2013 by Jefri Yue Fei 吴岳飞 in The Ink Room

Tagged with ,